Interim (Lazy Man’s) Action Bedding

It’s no secret that in recent years the fit of the action in the stock of many 10/22s is on the loose side, with gaps on the side and rear of the receiver. For whatever reason, some of the stocks, especially wooden ones, are being inlet with rather wide tolerances. My 2013 model 1149 Sporter has this issue. Even after tightening the action screw, I could rattle the receiver both fore-and-aft and side-to-side.

The loose fit is a problem for consistent, accurate shooting. If recoil makes the action shift in the stock before the bullet has exited the muzzle, hitting your point of aim is merely a coincidence. My rifle has been making 3/8″ – 1/2″ groups at 25 yards, but with too many flyers outside the group, and those groups are too darn large. The flyers can easily turn a 5 on the Appleseed AQT target into a 4 – very frustrating when I’m chasing a clean 250 score.

Many expert owners give their action a full bedding job, and I plan to do exactly that when time allows. I’ll use the method detailed in this excellent photo essay by Dr. Gunner at Gunner Bedding on Rimfirecentral.com. Time doesn’t allow right now, and I’m impatient. So I shimmed the receiver in the stock with some electrical tape. It took three layers on each side and four layers in the rear to stabilize the receiver. Here’s how it looks:

Left side taped   Right side taped

There is still an unsightly gap between the receiver and the stock at the rear:

Rear inletting gap

But nothing moves, and the action still goes into the stock smoothly.

I also found that the trigger housing was slightly loose in the receiver. If the trigger group isn’t solidly locked in place, it will move slightly rearward when the hammer hits the firing pin. This weakens the primer strike and makes it inconsistent, all bad for accuracy. It took four layers of tape to snug that up:

Trigger housing taped

Finally, to make installing the trigger group easier and prevent the malfunction condition I described in Malfunction Mystery Theater, I put a small strip of tape on the the ejector to make it fit tightly in its slot:

Ejector taped

Like my trigger return spring spacer, one could call this a Bubba job. I prefer to call it a shade-tree mechanic solution. The stock shims will be replaced with a good bedding job. The trigger group shim could be replaced if I fit Kidd screw-in receiver cross pins (here) but that’s not an urgently needed upgrade. It’s unfortunate that these steps are needed, but what do you expect for such a low priced rifle? A finely hand-fitted gun would cost at least twice as much as a 10/22 – for example, look at the CZ bolt actions. This fix works, it is completely non-invasive and does not permanently alter any parts, and it cost nothing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Interim (Lazy Man’s) Action Bedding

  1. AlbemarlePlinker says:

    I think i’ll try the same thing on my synthetic stock. Bought it new last year, but the bolt is not etched with the 50th anniversary logo.
    Thanks for the insight. I enjoy your aritcles and your contribution to the local markmanship community.

    Like

  2. AlbemarlePlinker says:

    I shimmed mine up just as you showed. The stock went on snug and tight. Looking forward to range time to see what it does for accuracy.

    Like

  3. Looking forward to reading of your success.

    Here in the Valley we got 15″ of snow yesterday. I guess it will be a few days before we won’t need snowshoes to post targets. I need to test a Takedown I’m reviewing for a future article.

    Like

    • Vincent Brennan says:

      I have bedded a number of 10/22 and bolt actions (581 Rem, TOZ and Zastava among others) with the aluminum tape used in the A/C and heating industry. I wrote a couple tutorials on how for RimfireCentral. Done correctly it works as well as glass bedding. I prefer to use any of these methods as a way of “getting through” until I can do the permanent bedding but I have one 10/22 SuperStock that averaged under 1/4″ @ 50 yards for 16 straight groups with the aluminum tape and frankly I am now afraid to mess with it! Ammo was 10 year old Eley Ultimate EPS Tenex.

      Have really enjoyed your blog that I have been reading back posts for the last 2 hours!! Very nice. The part about the hard ring in front of the chamber causing problems was excellent and I have been preaching this on the forums for going on 10 years but you did an excellent job. Amazing how many people refuse to believe this is what caused their 10/22 to go KABOOM and launches their extractor into the ozone!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

